Tuesday, October 9, 2007

Congrats to the 2008 NEA Jazz Masters!

The Blue Note congratulates the NEA Jazz Master Award recipients of 2008!

New York, NY -- National Endowment for the Arts Chairman Dana Gioia announced the recipients of the 2008 NEA Jazz Masters Award. The award is the nation's highest honor in this distinctly American art form. The recipients will receive a $25,000 fellowship, will appear in an award ceremony and concert on January 12, 2008, and have the opportunity to participate in other NEA-sponsored promotional and performance activities. This year's announcement is tinged with sadness with the death of renowned pianist and composer Andrew Hill who was notified of his receipt of the award shortly before his death. His wife, Joanne Robinson Hill, acknowledged the honor on his behalf.

In addition to Andrew Hill, this year's recipients are; Candido Camero (rhythm instrumentalist), Quincy Jones (bandleader), Tom McIntosh (composer-arranger), and Joe Wilder (solo instrumentalist/trumpet). This year's recipient of the A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Master Award for Jazz Advocacy is Gunther Schuller.

No comments: